DC Division B 30 Over League's title race gathers pace

By Guardian Correspondent , The Guardian
Published at 06:00 AM Jun 07 2024
Photo: Courtesy of Tanzania Cricket Association
Karibu Tanzanite DCC's skipper, Bhavesh Govind (L), is presented with Player of the Match prize by match umpire Aahil Jassani upon the conclusion of the 2024 TCA Dar 30 Overs Cup Division B tie between the side and Shree Kutchi Leva Patel Sports Center

THIS season's Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) Dar 30 Overs Cup Division B saw its final round of group phase games played last weekend, with matches taking place at the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) and Annadil Burhani grounds.

The outcomes of these games determined the quarterfinal lineups and delivered a mix of emotions for the teams involved.

In a nail-biting contest that took place at Annadil Burhani ground, Aga Khan SC B set a target of 148/8 in their 30 overs after they were put in to bat first by Gymkhana Cricket Club that had won the toss and chose to bowl.

Gymkhana Cricket Club thereafter chased down the target in 22.4 overs, finishing at 148/7 and garnering a three-wicket victory.

This victory allowed Gymkhana Cricket Club's cricketers to top their group, while the defeat meant Aga Khan SC B's cricketers ended their campaign in fifth place, failing to advance to the quarterfinals.

In the weekend's other clash which took place at UDSM ground, Aces B wallopped Union SC by 51 runs to make certain of their progression to the last eight. 

Aces B, led by youthful skipper Hamza Ally, managed to score 99 runs losing all wickets in 26.5 overs, and, in an unexpected twist, Union SC were in response dismissed for just 48 runs in 18.2 overs.

This low-scoring thriller saw Aces B clinch the quarterfinal spot. Union SC, despite succumbing to the heavy defeat, had already qualified for the quarterfinals but fell to third place in their group. 

In a match that shocked many, Patel Brotherhood A cruised to a comprehensive four-wicket victory over Specialized K&P A. 

Specialized K&P A were bowled out for a mere 46 runs in 18.1 overs and Patel Brotherhood A chased down the target- amassing 47/6 in 13.5 overs.

Specialized K&P A's loss was a significant setback, pushing them to fifth place in the group and frustrating their chances of progressing to the knock-out phase.

Patel Brotherhood A, which has already qualified for the next stage, was set to face Estim A in a match to decide the group's top team.

The quarterfinal fixtures are now set, promising an exciting continuation of the tournament. The first of the quarterfinals will be the Gymkhana A vs Gupta Upanga SC B tie, whereas Caravans B will confront SKLPSC A.

In the knockout phase's other encounters, Union SC will lock horns with Patel Brotherhood A, and Aces B will play against Group A's table-topper Estim A.

Karibu Tanzanite DCC cricketers have ended this year's TCA Dar 30 Overs Cup Division B group phase on a high after commanding a 41-run thrashing of Shree Kutchi Leva Patel Sports Center (SKLPSC) A last weekend.

The clash was played at Annadil Burhani ground and saw Karibu Tanzanite DCC notch a competitive 184/5 in the allotted 30 overs after winning the toss and choosing to bat.

Experienced cricketer Bhavesh Govind, assigned as one of the openers, surpassed a half-century mark to end with 52 runs as the batting squad expressed determination to post a bigger total.

He ensured that the batting squad wrestled back control of the innings after experiencing a wobble caused by the early exit of the fellow opener, Adil Kassam, who had ended two runs short of a two-digit figure. 

There were moreover notable batting contributions by the other experienced performers- Moeez Imtiaz that was seven runs short of a half-century and Assad Aziz that secured unbeaten 40 runs.

Aziz wounded up the batting side's innings with Sufian Usman who scored unbeaten 19 runs. Skipper Meet Jetha was three runs short of a two-digit figure as the SKLPSC A's bowling unit fought to frustrate Karibu Tanzanite DCC's efforts to finish their innings with an imposing score. 

Ramesh Khimani, Vital Vekariya, Sachin Pindoriya, and Arjan Rabadiya posted a wicket each as SKLPSC A's bowling unit struggled to keep Karibu Tanzanite DCC's batting unit in check.  

Needing 185 runs to grab victory, SKLPSC A lost steam in the chase given they in response were bowled out for 143 runs in 25.2 overs.

Although this win was a morale booster for Karibu Tanzanite DCC, it did not change their fate as they were already out of contention for the quarterfinals.

The SKLPSC A cricketers, despite the loss, had already secured their place in the quarterfinals based on previous results.

In another development, TCA Information and Media officer Atif Salim said the winners of the DC Division B 30 Over League will secure the last spot to compete in this year's edition of the prestigious Caravans T20 Cup that will also involve Division A teams.

The TCA official pointed out that this provides an excellent opportunity for cricketers making the DC Division B 30 Over League champion to showcase their skills against the top-tier teams and gain further recognition.